Looking For: MORE SPACE!!

Tom, Jack and I currently live in a 900 square feet, one bedroom condo.  Thanks to the economy and the housing market it appears as if we will be staying in this small house for quite some time.  I have read more about storage solutions and small house living than I ever thought I would read and just when I think we’ve gotten everything the way we want it a need comes up to switch everything around.

For our newest adventure we bought a murphy bed.  You know … one of those beds that folds out of the wall?

We now own one.  The idea was to let Jack have his own room to sleep in and for Tom and I to finally be able to talk in bed (among other things!).  This murphy bed is going to live in our dinning room area which is pretty much 50% of the living area of our condo … it also wasn’t cheap.  It’s being custom built as I type this and it will hopefully be installed in a few weeks.

But we still face the problem of not enough closet space.  I’m a girl!  I need purses and shoes and clothes and jewelry (and a few more “ands”) and I need places to put them!  One small SHARED closet is not enough!!  We’re going to have a bit more free space in the bedroom once our bed resides in the dining room and I’m not opposed to putting some sort of closet solution in there but it needs to not cost thousands of dollars and be baby proof!  Does that exist?!

I know a lot of people live with a lot less … less space … less stuff … less money … and I start to feel guilty when I think about how my mixing bowl collection takes up too much space in the cabinet.  Maybe that’s the key … maybe we need to go back to simpler times … like college … when one mixing bowl was enough.  Maybe we are so focused on putting this square middle class society peg into the round small house small paycheck hole that we’re making ourselves crazy?!  I know trying to figure all this out is making me feel crazy.

One comment on “Looking For: MORE SPACE!!

  1. Lindsay says:

    These beds always remind me of the Full House episode where Joey and Uncle Jesse are building the bed, and Uncle Jesse gets trapped inside… LOL.

Leave a Reply

