I did it!

I took up running today

Image by Myles! via Flickr

I hit snooze once … but I did it!

I woke up at 5:10 am (damn snooze), put on workout pants that were entirely too snug thanks to my ever expanding booty, picked up my iphone prepared to launch my awesome new app that is going to help get me into shape … and the phone was dead.  Crap.

No worries though … I plugged it in for a quick charge up while I was hunting around in the dark for all my clothes/shoes trying not to wake husband or baby … note to self: find clothes the night before!

But finally I was out the door!  And it was a beautiful morning … full of chirping birds, guys on bicycles, people walking dogs … and me huffing and puffing my way through Day 1 of the Couch to 5k program.

Day 1 goes a little something like that:

Brisk five-minute warmup walk.  Then alternate 60 seconds of jogging and 90 second of walking for a total of 20 minutes.  Brisk five-minute cool down walk.

Sounds easy enough right?  Well let me tell you … I think I need a “Fat Computer Geek to Couch” program to get me ready for this one!!!  Holy crap!!  I did 3 rounds of the running/walking and I seriously thought I was going ti die.  But I didn’t quit … but I didn’t keep running either … I just briskly walked the entire time.  Perhaps tomorrow I’ll run 4 times … and then the next day 5 times.  I’m okay with creating my own pace here.

Here’s how I did today:

  • Distance: 1.6 mi
  • Walk Pace: 16:14/mi
  • Run Pace: 18:58/mi (perhaps because I didn’t do much running!)
  • Calories Burned: 166

Oh yeah … my barely charged phone made it until the last 1/8 of my journey this morning (thank goodness since I also got lost!) … so those numbers may be not the most accurate!

This entry was posted in Health.

4 comments on “I did it!

  1. Perry says:

    Go Mur! Keep at it, you might like myfitnesspal.com too for logging exercise and nutrition. (not sure what app you’re using- for walking I use walkmeter and log the results of that in MFP for tracking) If you get on MFP friend me.

    • Jessie says:

      Hey Perry! I actually was checking out myfitnesspal this morning … it looks pretty awesome … I’ll have to look at it a bit closer!

  2. Cliff says:

    Way to go Jessie! Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

